Drive by Daniel H. Pink

Drive

I’ve used Dan Pink’s work in training before but was eager to pick up this book. On the day it arrived I was in a meeting with someone who referenced it so pity it hadn’t arrived a day or so before. Anyway, when I finally got to read it I found it to be thought provoking. The three key ideas were that people are motivated by Autonomy, Purpose and Mastery rather the more traditional ideas of how to manage people. It certainly resonated and I think could be a useful tool for training discussions. Is everyone at my work ready for the true implications of all this? Perhaps not but that doesn’t mean it’s not worth trying.

Leave a Reply

